Skip to content

Healthier by 2010 – and I ran, I ran so far away…

August 11, 2009

I started running 13 years ago.  I don’t remember what led me to do that, I  think I wanted to lose weight and that was the cheapest, most accessible sports to access, independent of gym fees or specific time of day.  Living in Tel Aviv, my students flat was right by the sea, so going out for a quick run by the beach was something I could do anytime, for however long I wanted. I started with 2k, which at the beginning seemed quite an achievement to me.  As time passed and I was introduced to the intoxicating feeling known to many runners, I started stretching the 2k limits – one more kilometer, just one more, slowly reaching 12k and sometimes more. Not much to those of you running marathons and half marathons, but to me – a girl who couldn’t throw a ball in highschool – this was an achievement.

For different reasons of knee squeaking, life changes and other excuses, I have kept in the same loop of quitting and starting running for too many times. This time, with #healthier2010 I decided to target 2010 NY Marathon to allow me to consistently build strength and stamina for long enough time, and give me an excuse to go for that daily run and not ‘just do it. tomorrow’.

so why do I run?

There are many known physical and mental benefits to running. I trust you know them and I won’t bore you with them.

The reason I run is not only to burn these calories, I run because it is one of the single activities I do that centralizes and focuses me. Some people meditate, some people paint, some people cook and some people build plane models – Everyone has that once activity that balances them out, that cleans and focuses the mind and that’s the one for me, what’s yours?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

