Skip to content

Execute command: Forget My Network Activity

August 16, 2009
Wired Magazines
Image by Johannesen via Flickr

Wired has a great article (that wasn’t formally pushlished online yet) in this month’s issue from Clive Thompson, talking about maintaining your privacy and allowing social networks to ‘forget’ your activity on the network. “What happens in Vegas stays in… Twitter, Flicker, Digg, Facebook, YouTube, etc” is one of the strongest facts noted in @mashable‘s social media stats presentation. And indeed, the web doesn’t forget. All the you have posted stays up there, for good and for bad. Clive Thompson brings a gret example of a site that allows you to ‘expire’ your contribution.

This is an interesting concept. As online profile reflects ‘you’ online, how you percieve yourself and how others percieve you, should and would you want to be able to simply ‘delete’ your contribution conciously from your and the collective memory, what would be the impact of that on ‘authenticity’ ?

what do you think? should we be able to delete social activity online at the cost of interfering with ‘truth’  ?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: