Skip to content

Bye Bye Blog

January 16, 2010

A good friend of mine once told me, that some people, when it comes to actioning, are ‘Bakers’ – people who need to simmer on an idea, or an action, before progressing with it, even if the end result is very clear from the very start.

I have been running this blog for more than a year and a half, and a few months ago I decided to say goodbye to the wordpress hosting services and move to my own domain, 2 actually: sleeplessinsocialmedia – focusing on social media, web 2.0 and communities; and thesleeplesslife, which is more of a personal blog.

The task of writing down a ‘goodbye’ post was on my to do list for a long time. The end result was really known in advance – close the blog.  But for some reason I couldnt ‘find the time’ or ‘bring myself’ to do it. I have drafted a post and re-written it for 5 times. But I could not push the ‘publish’ button on it.

See, although the end result was there: just say goodbye already. But ‘the perfect post’ (for me) wasn’t.  Took me 4 months to ‘bake’ this Goodbye and formally move on.

In an uber-sentimental way, this is me letting go of the ‘wordpress-hand-holding’ I had for a while. The WordPress platform has been a kind and comfortable and safe environment to manage my blog on, and moving to my own domain, where I can run applications and plugins, have much more freedom with layout of site, etc. is a proof of just how great WordPress is as software: it allows the right level of freedom and support one needs.

I would be extremely happy to see you in my new blogs. Yep, you’ll have to resubscribe to the RSS there due to a technical fault on merging this RSS to the new one – I apologies and thank you for your effort doing it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 10:03 am

    Nice touch.

    Blogs die. People change focus, careers change, technology changes.

    It’s always polite to say good-bye.

    Books have endings.

    Actors come out at the end of the play and thank the crowd.

    Bloggers should do the same.

  2. alin wagner-lahmy permalink*
    January 17, 2010 4:26 pm

    Thanks Doug, it’s very kind of you to say that.

    It’s nice to see the audience hasn’t left and is still listening, even though the writer takes some time to start breathing again and get the words into something that makes sense, before expressing thanks 🙂

    I hope to see you in the new Blog.

Leave a Reply

